What "free trial" means, brand by brand
Twenty-seven brands in the database publish a return policy that can be read on their own site. Most describe a "risk-free trial"; the terms show how much risk is left. Of the brands that make a full-body panel, seven offer 60 days or more with no restocking fee: RLT Home, Hooga, Helio Cure, Mito Red Light, Rouge, Rojo and Recover Red (Beam and Core only; its MAX cannot be returned), with Joovv and Infraredi alongside (60 days, no fee, but original shipping not refunded or return cost deducted). Two of the longest windows carry a fee: PlatinumLED's 60 days and Luminousred's 100 days both cost 20% to use. The five best policies are ranked below on the terms alone; each brand is shown with its largest panel, because a trial matters most on the panel that is hardest and most expensive to send back, and the full-body ranking covers the size question.
The awards: the five best trial policies, ranked
365 days, no fee, normal use acceptedRed Light Rising Advantage 900365-day return window for private customers (labeled "limited time"), no restocking fee stated, "minor signs of normal use are acceptable", one return per household, customer pays tracked return shipping. Panel: half body, 91 x 30 cm, 300 x 3W LEDs, 5 bands, in-house spectrometer figure of 86.4 mW/cm2 at 15 cm; UK brand, priced in pounds£1,725verified 2026-09-13; floor stand £125 extra
Trial365 daysNo restocking feeNormal use acceptedYou pay return shippingUK store, pounds
Buy now at Red Light RisingWhy it won
60 days from delivery, no fee, discounted return labelHooga ULTRA 4500"A full 60 day (2 month) return window, starting the day your order is delivered, to try your device out"; no restocking fee; US customers generate a discounted prepaid label whose cost comes off the refund; same condition as received, original packaging; open-box purchases non-refundable. Panel: full body, 61 x 16 in, 900 quad-chip LEDs, 4 bands; floor stand sold separately$3,499verified 2026-09-13
Trial60 days from deliveryNo restocking feeDiscounted label (US)Label cost deducted
Buy now at HoogaWhy it placed
60 days from delivery, no fee on panelsRojo Refine 360060-day window from delivery with a full refund on the panel; no restocking fee; customer pays return shipping and shipping and handling are not refunded; "new or like new", fully packaged; stands are not returnable. Panel: full body, 70.9 x 23.6 in, 1,200 LEDs, 5 bands; 75 mW/cm2 at 6 in from the brand's spectrometer, with an independent reading of 72 (Light Therapy Insiders); floor mounts sold separately$3,699verified 2026-08-13
Trial60 days from deliveryNo restocking feeStands not returnableYou pay return shipping
Buy now at RojoWhy it placed
60 days from receipt, no fee on modular panelsJoovv Elite 3.060 days from receipt on Gen 3.0 modular devices; no restocking fee on them ($50 on an opened Joovv Go); customer pays return shipping and original shipping is not refunded; like-new in full original packaging; final sale and open-box purchases non-refundable. Panel: full body, six Solo units, 72 x 26.25 in, 900 LEDs, 660 and 850nm; stands and mounts sold separately$11,099verified 2026-09-13; regular $12,199
Trial60 days from receiptNo restocking fee (modular)Original shipping not refundedYou pay return shipping
Buy now at JoovvWhy it placed
60 days from receipt, no fee, but not on every modelRecover Red Beam60-day return window from receipt on the Beam and Core, no restocking fee stated, customer pays return shipping, original packaging and "like-new or unused" condition; the MAX model cannot be returned at all and open-box units are non-refundable. Panel: full body, 71.5 x 11.8 in, 864 LEDs, 660 and 850nm; mobile stand included$2,599verified 2026-09-13, with mobile stand; regular $3,499
Trial60 days from receiptNo restocking feeStand includedMAX model: no returnsYou pay return shipping
Buy now at Recover RedWhy it placed
Every brand's return policy, side by side
Read on each brand's own site on September 13, 2026. "Fee" is the charge on a change-of-mind return of a working panel, not on a defective one. "Not stated" means the policy does not say; it does not mean the answer is favorable.
| Brand | Window | Restocking fee | Return shipping | Condition and catches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Red Light Rising | 365 days (private customers, "limited time"); 60 days for commercial buyers | None stated | Customer pays, tracked and signed | "Minor signs of normal use are acceptable"; one return per household; all packaging and contents; UK brand |
| Luminousred | 100 days from receipt | 20% on any elective return | Customer pays; $50 flat fee on refused shipments | Original packaging with all accessories or refused |
| RLT Home | 60 days from delivery | None, "or any other hidden charges" | Customer pays; prepaid label cost deducted if one is issued | Product and packaging "in perfect condition without any wear and tear whatsoever"; photos and email approval before shipping; return address in US, Canada or UK |
| Hooga | 60 days from delivery | None | US: discounted prepaid label, cost deducted from refund; non-US returns pay US import duties | Same condition as received, original packaging, all accessories; open-box purchases cannot be refunded |
| Helio Cure | 60 days from delivery | None stated | Customer pays; prepaid label cost deducted if issued | Device and packaging "clean, undamaged, and free of wear and tear"; photos and RMA required |
| Mito Red Light | 60 days from delivery, postmarked by day 60 | None | Customer pays unless the paid "Free Returns and Package Protection" add-on was bought at checkout; original shipping non-refundable | Original packaging; EU customers also have the 14-day withdrawal right |
| Rouge | 60 days from purchase | None on panels; 20% if accessories or packaging are missing; stands 20% and only unassembled | Customer pays | "Like new", original packaging; international returns may go to the manufacturer in China |
| Rojo | 60 days from delivery | None | Customer pays; shipping and handling not refunded | "New or like new", fully packaged; stands not returnable |
| Recover Red | 60 days from receipt (Beam, Core); the MAX cannot be returned at all | None stated | Customer pays; shipping not reimbursed | Original packaging, "like-new or unused"; open-box and closeout non-refundable; international returns to the US hub |
| Joovv | 60 days from receipt (Gen 3.0 modular); 30 days Joovv Go | None on modular panels; $50 on an opened Joovv Go | Customer pays; original shipping non-refundable | Like-new, full original packaging; final sale and open-box purchases non-refundable; international returns to the US |
| Infraredi | 60-day trial; start point not stated | None stated | Customer pays; return cost deducted from refund | "Good condition and without any damage"; original packaging if available |
| iRestore (Apex) | 60 days from delivery; RMA first, 30 days to ship after | None on Apex panels; 20% on refused shipments | Customer pays; original and expedited shipping non-refundable | Like-new, original packaging; one Apex return per household; stands final sale; 36 in panel, not full body |
| LightpathLED | 60 days from delivery (Diesel, Combo, iLED lines); 30 days (Pro, Budget, Torch) | None on the 60-day lines; 20% on the 30-day lines | Customer pays "both ways (including the initial delivery fee)" | Original boxes, "new condition" |
| GembaRed | 60 days from purchase | None stated | Customer pays; deducted from refund | Same condition as received, original packaging |
| Red Therapy Co | 60 days from purchase | None stated | Customer pays | Original condition and packaging |
| Orion | 60 days from receipt (Pro, Pro 2, Orion 3); 30 days stands and Edge 2 | None stated; fees for missing components | Customer pays, to Canada | Like-new, all accessories and packaging |
| Valo | 60 days from delivery | None (FAQ) | Policy: customer pays; FAQ: prepaid label provided. The two pages conflict | Policy requires "unused, undamaged, original packaging" while the FAQ says "use it for up to 60 days"; ask before buying |
| BioLight | 60-day trial on listed devices | None stated | Customer pays | Bundle items refund as store credit only |
| Scienlodic | 60-day trial | $15 if opened or used | Customer pays | Fee-free only if returned unopened in the vacuum seal, so not a usable trial without the fee |
| PlatinumLED | 60 days from delivery; must be received back by day 60 | 20% on any elective return | Customer pays; original shipping and insurance non-refundable | A panel is deemed "open box or used the moment that the shipment is received", regardless of use; stands and accessories final sale |
| Vital Red Light | 30 days from receipt | None stated | Customer buys the label; shipping and handling excluded | Like-new, all packaging; any partial refund voids the trial |
| Bestqool | 30 days from delivery | None | Prepaid label, cost deducted; original shipping non-refundable | Like-new, "no signs of excessive use"; open-box and refurbished not returnable |
| BlockBlueLight | 30 days from delivery; must be received back within 30 days | None stated; $9.99 return-to-you fee if rejected | Customer pays | "New and resalable"; orders with a discount code over 15% or sale items: exchange or store credit only |
| BON CHARGE | 30 days from receipt | None stated; "additional fees may be applicable" if not resalable | Customer pays; duties and taxes non-refundable | Discount code of 25% or more: exchange or store credit only |
| Kala | 30 days (one page says from delivery, another from purchase) | $15 on all returns | Customer pays; duties and taxes non-refundable | RMA first; Quad and Duo panels, stands, refurbished units final sale; one trial per customer |
| EMR-Tek | 30 days from delivery | 15% | Label sent, cost deducted | Policy says use is expected; FAQ says used items cannot be returned. The two conflict |
| LifePro | Could not be read: the site blocked automated access at the time of checking | |||
The traps, named
- "60-day guarantee" with a 20% fee. PlatinumLED's policy deems every delivered panel "open box or used" and charges 20% on any elective return, "NO EXCEPTIONS". On a $1,599 BioMax Pro Ultra that is about $320, plus return shipping and the non-refundable outbound shipping. It is a return policy, not a free trial.
- The long window that is not free. Luminousred's 100 days is the second-longest window in the database and also carries 20% on any elective return.
- Fee-free only if unopened. Scienlodic ($15 if opened) and Joovv's Go ($50 if opened) waive the fee only for a sealed return, which is not a trial.
- The window that starts before you have the panel. Rouge, GembaRed and Red Therapy Co count from the purchase date. On an international order a week or two of the 60 days can be gone before the box arrives.
- The model that cannot come back. Recover Red's MAX has no returns; Kala's Quad and Duo, iRestore's stands, PlatinumLED's stands and Rouge's assembled stands are final sale. A full-body setup often includes a stand, so check both halves.
- Sale-price purchases. BlockBlueLight (codes over 15%) and BON CHARGE (codes of 25% or more) switch to exchange or store credit only. If you buy in a sale, the "free trial" becomes store credit.
- "Perfect condition." RLT Home, Helio Cure, Rojo, Joovv, Orion and Vital Red Light all require a like-new panel in original packaging. Keep every insert and strap, and do not stick, drill or mark anything during the trial.
- Return shipping. No brand pays it outright for a change-of-mind return. Budget it: a 60 to 90 lb crate shipped across the US is a three-figure cost. Hooga's and RLT Home's deducted-label approach at least gives you a carrier rate.
How the awards were chosen
This page ranks the policies, not the panels. Only brands whose own site states a return window of 60 days or more with no restocking fee on a working panel were considered. They are ordered on the policy terms: window length, whether it starts at delivery, whether use is explicitly allowed, how return shipping is handled (a discounted label beats "ship it yourself"), how strict the condition wording is, whether an approval step is required before a return can ship, whether every model is covered, and whether the policy contradicts itself elsewhere on the site (Valo and EMR-Tek were excluded for that reason). Each brand is shown with its largest panel and the hardware facts noted so you can weigh the panel separately; the general ranking method is under how rankings work. Prices carry the date they were last verified.
#1: Red Light Rising, 365 days

The longest window in the database, and the only policy that says a used panel can come back
- Trial 365 days for private customers on Target Lights and Advantage panels, labeled "limited time"; 60 days from delivery for commercial buyers; no restocking fee stated; "minor signs of normal use are acceptable, but damage beyond normal wear and tear ... will result in rejection of the return or a partial refund"; one return per household; 100% of packaging and contents required, including any complimentary gift; customer pays tracked, signed-for return shipping, which is not refunded
- Panel shown Advantage 900, the brand's largest: 91 x 30 cm (about 36 x 12 in, half body), 300 x 3W LEDs, 630, 660, 810, 830, 850nm; 86.4 mW/cm2 at 15 cm from the brand's own spectrometer (Hopoo OHSP-350F); floor stand 125 pounds, horizontal or vertical stand 499 pounds
- Warranty 3 years on the Advantage 450 and 900
- Price 1,725 pounds on the UK store, verified 2026-09-13
A year to decide, and an explicit statement that normal use is fine: no other policy in the database comes close on either count, which is why a half-body UK panel takes first place on a page about trials. The conditions are ordinary (keep everything, one return per household, you pay the return postage) and the window is flagged as a limited-time offer, so check the page before relying on it. For a buyer outside the UK and EU the practical cost is shipping and duties both ways on a return, which the policy leaves with the customer. Full specs.
#2: Hooga, 60 days from delivery

The plainest 60-day trial, with a discounted carrier label
- Trial "You have a full 60 day (2 month) return window, starting the day your order is delivered, to try your device out"; no restocking fee; US customers generate a prepaid label at Hooga's discounted rate and its cost is deducted from the refund; same condition as received, original packaging, all accessories; partial refunds for missing parts; open-box purchases cannot be refunded; non-US returns pay US import duties
- Panel shown ULTRA 4500, the brand's largest: full body, 61 x 16 in, 900 quad-chip LEDs, 630/660/810/850nm; 155 mW/cm2 at 6 in with no method stated (an independent spectrometer test of the smaller ULTRA 360 read roughly half that model's claim); full-body floor stand sold separately
- Warranty 3 years
- Price $3,499, verified 2026-09-13
Among the 60-day brands Hooga ranks first because its FAQ says what the others imply: the window is for trying the device, it starts at delivery, and there is no fee. The discounted label is the practical edge over brands that leave you to find a carrier for a 60 lb crate. Two things to check: the floor stand is a separate purchase with its own return terms, and Hooga sells discounted open-box ULTRA 4500 units that cannot be refunded, so the trial applies to new units only. Full specs.
#3: Rojo, 60 days from delivery

A fee-free 60 days from delivery on the panel; the stand is a separate question
- Trial 60 days from delivery with a full refund on panels; no restocking fee; customer pays return shipping, and shipping and handling are not refunded; "new or like new", fully packaged; vertical and horizontal stands are not eligible for return
- Panel shown Refine 3600, the brand's largest: full body, 70.9 x 23.6 in, 1,200 x 3W LEDs, 630, 660, 810, 830, 850nm, allocation not published; 75 mW/cm2 at 6 in from the brand's spectrometer (the brand also publishes a 195 solar-style figure), and an independent spectrometer reading of 72 at 6 in (Light Therapy Insiders); desk stand in the box, floor and mobile mounts sold separately
- Warranty 3 years
- Price $3,699, verified 2026-08-13
Rojo's panel terms match Hooga's on the points that count: the clock starts at delivery and nothing is withheld for trying the panel. It places third because the policy stops at the panel. A full-body Refine 3600 needs a vertical or horizontal stand, the stand cannot be returned, and shipping and handling on the original order are not refunded, so a change of mind costs more here than at Hooga. In its favor, the irradiance figure is one of the few on this page that an independent spectrometer has confirmed. Full specs.
#4: Joovv, 60 days from receipt

No fee on the modular panels, but the outbound shipping stays spent
- Trial 60 days from receipt on Gen 3.0 modular devices, 30 days on the Joovv Go; no restocking fee on modular panels, $50 on an opened Joovv Go; customer pays return shipping and original shipping is non-refundable; like-new condition in full original packaging; final sale and open-box purchases non-refundable; international returns ship to the US
- Panel shown Elite 3.0, the brand's largest: six Solo units, 72 x 26.25 in, 900 LEDs, 660 and 850nm, allocation not published; the brand states over 100 mW/cm2 without a distance, and an independent spectrometer test of a single Solo 3.0 read 72.4 peak, 59.2 average at 6 in (Light Therapy Insiders); stands and mounts sold separately
- Warranty 2 years on modular devices
- Price $11,099, verified 2026-09-13; regular $12,199
Joovv's window and fee line are as good as the brands above it on the modular range: 60 days from receipt and no restocking charge. It ranks fourth because original shipping is not refunded, which on a six-unit system is a real sum, and because the fee-free terms do not cover the whole catalog: an opened Joovv Go costs $50 to return and has 30 days, not 60. The 2-year warranty is also the shortest in the ranked list. Full specs.
#5: Recover Red, 60 days from receipt

A fee-free 60 days on the Beam and Core, and no returns at all on the MAX
- Trial 60 days from receipt on the Beam and Core; no restocking fee stated; customer pays return shipping, not reimbursed; original packaging, all components, "like-new or unused"; open-box units, Final and Closeout Sale items and the MAX device are non-refundable; international returns ship to the US hub
- Panel shown Beam: full body, 71.5 x 11.8 in, 864 LEDs, 660 and 850nm; brand claims 312 mW/cm2 at 6 in with no instrument named and no independent test on file; mobile stand included
- Warranty 10 years, limited
- Price $2,599 with mobile stand, verified 2026-09-13; regular $3,499
On the Beam the policy is a straightforward 60 days with no fee and the stand in the box, at the lowest full-body price in the ranked list. It sits fifth because the policy is not brand-wide: the MAX, the company's largest device, has no return window at all, and the "like-new or unused" wording plus the open-box exclusion leave less room than the policies above it. The 312 mW/cm2 claim is the reason to use the trial rather than trust the spec sheet. Full specs.
The picks side by side
| Rank | Policy | Window | Fee | Return shipping | Condition | Panel shown (verified price) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Red Light Rising | 365 days (limited time) | None stated | Customer, tracked | Minor signs of normal use accepted | Advantage 900, half body (1,725 pounds, 2026-09-13) |
| 2 | Hooga | 60 days from delivery | None | Discounted label, deducted (US) | Same condition as received | ULTRA 4500, full body ($3,499, 2026-09-13) |
| 3 | Rojo | 60 days from delivery | None on panels | Customer; shipping and handling not refunded | New or like new; stands not returnable | Refine 3600, full body ($3,699, 2026-08-13) |
| 4 | Joovv | 60 days from receipt (modular); 30 days Joovv Go | None on modular panels; $50 on an opened Go | Customer; original shipping not refunded | Like-new, full original packaging | Elite 3.0, full body ($11,099, 2026-09-13) |
| 5 | Recover Red | 60 days from receipt (Beam, Core; not MAX) | None stated | Customer | Like-new or unused | Beam, full body, stand included ($2,599, 2026-09-13) |
Close behind: Helio Cure and RLT Home (both 60 days from delivery with no fee and the stand included, but photos and an approval or RMA are required before anything ships, and both use strict no-wear condition wording), Mito Red Light (60 days from delivery, no fee, but original shipping not refunded and a paid add-on needed for free returns), Infraredi (60 days, no fee, return cost deducted, start point not stated), and Rouge (60 days, no fee, but counted from purchase). Luminousred's 100 days and PlatinumLED's 60 are excluded by their 20% fees.
Before you rely on a trial
- Read the fee line before the day count. A 60-day window with 20% off the refund (PlatinumLED, Luminousred) costs more to use than a 30-day window with no fee.
- Keep everything. Crate, foam, straps, goggles, cables, manuals. Missing accessories trigger fees at Rouge and Orion and refusals elsewhere.
- Photograph the panel on arrival and before return. RLT Home and Helio Cure require photos to approve a return; every brand inspects on receipt.
- Get the RMA or email approval first. RLT Home, Helio Cure, Kala and iRestore refuse returns sent without one.
- Check the stand's terms separately. Stands are final sale at PlatinumLED, iRestore, Kala and Rojo, and 20% at Rouge once assembled. Of the picks, only Recover Red includes the stand; Helio Cure and RLT Home, outside the top five, also include it.
- Buying in a sale can change the policy. BlockBlueLight and BON CHARGE move to store credit above a discount threshold; the discounts page lists which programs stack with sales.
Frequently asked questions
Which red light therapy panels have a real 60-day free trial?
Among full-body brands: RLT Home, Hooga, Helio Cure, Mito Red Light, Rouge, Rojo and Recover Red (Beam and Core) state 60 days with no restocking fee. Joovv and Infraredi also charge no fee but do not refund original shipping. In every case the customer pays return shipping.
Does PlatinumLED charge a restocking fee?
Yes. Its policy states a 20% fee on any elective return, and deems a panel used the moment it is delivered, regardless of use. Stands and accessories are final sale.
Which brand has the longest return window?
Red Light Rising, at 365 days for private customers (labeled limited time), followed by Luminousred at 100 days (with a 20% fee). Most panel brands give 60 days; several give 30.
Do I have to pay return shipping on a red light panel?
At every brand checked, yes, for a change-of-mind return. Some brands supply a discounted carrier label and deduct it from the refund (RLT Home, Hooga, Helio Cure, Bestqool, EMR-Tek); others leave the shipping to you. Mito offers a paid returns add-on at checkout that covers it.
Can I return a panel I have used?
Every brand in the awards allows normal use during the window but requires like-new condition and original packaging. Red Light Rising explicitly accepts minor signs of use; Valo and EMR-Tek publish contradictory statements on this and should be asked directly.
Return policies read on the brands' own sites on September 13, 2026: rlthome.com/pages/returns-policy, platinumtherapylights.com/pages/warranty-refund, hoogahealth.com/policies/refund-policy and /pages/faq, mitoredlight.com/policies/refund-policy, rouge.care/policies/refund-policy, joovv.com/pages/returns, vitalredlight.com/pages/returns, boncharge.com/pages/shipping-returns, blockbluelight.com/policies/refund-policy, infraredi.com/policies/refund-policy, kalaredlight.com/pages/kala-return-policy, lightpathled.com/pages/shipping-return-policy, heliocure.com/policies/refund-policy, bestqool.com/pages/return-policy, gembared.com/pages/returns-policy, irestorelaser.com/policies/refund-policy, luminouslabs.health/shipping-delivery, recoverred.com/pages/return-policy, redlightrising.com/policies/refund-policy, redtherapy.co/pages/return-policy, orionrlt.com/policies/refund-policy, valoredlight.com/policies/refund-policy and /pages/faq, rojolighttherapy.com/shipping-returns, scienlodic.com/pages/return-and-refund-policy, biolight.shop/policies/refund-policy, emr-tek.com/policies/refund-policy. Prices from the brands' stores on the dates shown. Device specs from the linked database pages.















