Hooga vs Vellgus: the Spec-Sheet Comparison
Comparing Hooga and Vellgus on published data: Hooga offers the longer trial window (60 vs 30 days). Both brands are FDA-registered at most, like every home panel; the differences that matter are wavelength density, irradiance measurement method, and buyer terms.
Brand vs brand on the facts
| Policy | Hooga | Vellgus |
|---|---|---|
| Warranty | 3 | 3 |
| Trial window | 60 | 30 |
| Restocking fee | None stated. For US returns a prepaid label is offered but its cost is deducted from the refund. Open-box items are non-refundable. | 20% (orders after Feb 2023) |
| Shipping | Free shipping on US orders; standard delivery typically 2-6 business days (express orders before 12PM CST ship same day). Return shipping is the customer's cost. | Free US/Canada |
| Stand included | Foldable tabletop stand with HG200 and HG300; tabletop stand with PRO and ULTRA panels. Full-body floor stand separate. | No stand by default - panels ship with door hook, wire rope and lift rope; floor stand or flex mobile stand are paid add-on options at purchase |
| Eye protection | Protective eye goggles included in the box with panels (listed in what's-included on HG, PRO, and ULTRA product pages) | Goggles included |
| Irradiance method | Brand-stated at 6 in (appears solar-meter based); independent spectrometer (Light Therapy Insiders) measured roughly half (ULTRA360 74 vs 132 claimed) | Brand claims >245 mW/cm2, distance unstated (likely inflated); no third-party spectrometer test |
| LED type | n/p | 5W multi-chip |
| Preset modes | HG: built-in timer only. PRO: flicker-free, stand-compatible. ULTRA: touchscreen timer, adjustable brightness, pulse mode 1-9,999 Hz, remote panel sync. No condition preset modes on any line. | Pulsing+ and Dimming+ modes on panels; Mini adds dual power (battery/USB) and an automatic cool-down cycle |
| Personalized usage plan | none | n/p |
| FDA status | Not FDA-cleared; made in an FDA-registered facility; marketed as general wellness. | FDA-registered/listed. Marketing says 'cleared for home use' - MISLEADING; registration is not clearance, no K-number |
Flagship vs flagship


| Spec | Hooga ULTRA4500 | Vellgus Max 300 |
|---|---|---|
| Wavelengths | 630nm, 660nm, 810nm, 850nm | 630nm, 660nm, 810nm, 830nm, 850nm |
| Wavelength allocation | 4 wl per quad-chip | Not published by the brand |
| LEDs | 900 | 300 |
| Irradiance (brand) | 155 mW/cm² at 6 in (method not stated) | >245 mW/cm² (distance not stated) |
| Panel size | 61x16x2.6in | 36.2x11.8x2.5in |
| Price | $3,499 | $1,499 |
The verdict pattern
Hooga offers the longer trial window (60 vs 30 days). As with every comparison on this index, "n/p" cells mean the brand does not publish that fact, which is itself information.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better, Hooga or Vellgus?
It depends on the use case. Hooga offers the longer trial window (60 vs 30 days). The full device records linked above carry the per-model details.
Are Hooga and Vellgus FDA approved?
No home red light panel is FDA approved. Both brands hold, at most, FDA registration, which is a listing rather than a clearance.
Methodology: rankings weigh measured or method-stated irradiance, wavelength coverage and published density, buyer terms (trial, restocking, stand, warranty), and value per LED. No brand pays for a position. Full methodology.
